The Network Professional Association® (NPA), in conjunction with Interop, Microsoft, GITCA, Cisco Press and Agile IT announce four individuals as winners of the tenth annual Awards for Professionalism. The international contest for the Awards for Professionalism honors individuals working as network computing professionals. Selection is based on meeting the ideals of the Network Professional Association, the advocate for the network computing professional. Winners will receive a specially designed personalized trophy, a one-year membership in the NPA and a Cisco Press prize pack with multiple books of their choice. Read the story at www.AwardsforProfessionalism.org.

Awards for Professionalism winners will be honored with dining and celebration the evening of May 11, 2011 in Las Vegas Nevada. The profiles and achievements of the 2011 winners will be on display as models of professionalism. Award winners receive a personalized trophy and valuable gifts. Program details and descriptions of previous winners may be viewed at AwardsforProfessionalism.org

Congratulations to our esteemed winners in the following categories:

Best Networking Professional – Career Achievement Award

This award honors a network computing professional who has demonstrated years of the highest ideals of the network computing professional. Brian Cameron is Executive Director of the Center for Enterprise Architecture and Professor of Practice in the College of Information Sciences and Technology at the Pennsylvania State University. Within the College of Information Sciences and Technology, he works with a wide portfolio of companies on a variety of consulting engagements, ranging from systems integration projects to enterprise architecture planning and design.

Professional Excellence and Innovation Award
 • Corporate Small Business
This award honors the network computing professional who has made the most effective combination of the ideals of professionalism and the innovative use of networking technology and/or products for a particular networking project within the past 12 months. Vivek Thangaswamy is currently a Senior SharePoint and .NET Solution Developer for TCS in India. He has an extensive experience as an IT professional that began with a Bachelor's Degree in Information Technology. Vivek has authored VSTO 3.0 for Office 2007 Programming, Packt Publishing and co-authored System Analysis and Design, Lambert Academic Publishing.

Top of the Mark - Volunteer Award
This award honors the networking professional who has made the most effective combination of the ideals of
professionalism and is a notable example of the best in giving back through selfless effort. Soumitra Sengupta has been a Technology Community Leader for over 10 years. In 2002 he was awarded the Community Star by Microsoft India and started to participate in Microsoft News Groups in 2003. He was Awarded Microsoft's Most Valuable Professional Award (MVP) in 2003 and has continued to receive this award every year to date.

CNP Torch Bearer Award
This award honors senior members of the computing profession who have made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the profession or the industry by demonstrating that they embody the spirit of the CNP. Our first annual winner, Barry Sellers is one the many pioneers of the Network Professional Association, a Distinguished Fellow of the Network Professional Association (DFNPA). Barry was active in the formation of the Association and a guide to building the standards of NPA today. He was the founder and president of the Shreveport Chapter of the Network Professional Association (1993 - 1995). During the years 1995 through 1998 Barry Sellers served as a member of the NPA Board of Directors including as tenure as chairman. Barry is a visionary of the Certified Network Professional program started in 1996 and was part of the original implementation team.


Copyright Network Professional Association® 2002-2022.
All Rights Reserved

- - - - - - - - WEB CIRCLE - - - - - - - -
NPA      CNP

Nominations Judges Awards History Partners Home
2011 NPA
Awards for Professionalism
Awards for Professionalism
media release